823 Tower St S, Fergus, ON N1M 2R2

Safety Inspections in Elmira, ON

Vehicle Safety Inspections in Elmira, ON

Safety Inspections

A properly maintained and fully functioning vehicle meeting all safety requirements is less likely to be involved in a road accident.

What is a vehicle safety inspection?

A vehicle safety inspection examines your vehicle’s features that make it safe to drive on the road. This includes inspecting your tires, brakes, lights, mirrors, and other components your vehicle requires to function properly to keep you and other drivers safe.

A vehicle safety inspection varies depending on the province, but generally, it is a government inspection that ensures vehicles are roadworthy. Some provinces require this inspection on an annual basis, while others require it only before the sale of a car. Make sure you are familiar with your state’s vehicle inspection laws.

Why is a vehicle safety inspection important?

Car safety is critical for everyone, including your passengers and other drivers. People haven’t been driving as much as they were before the pandemic, but now that things are slowly but steadily improving, everyone wants to get back on the road. Inspections are quite important due to the following reasons:

Safety standards vehicle inspection is an important process in Ontario, as it helps ensure that vehicles on the road are safe to operate and meet the minimum standards the province sets. The inspection is designed to identify any potential safety issues and ensure that vehicles are in good working condition. A safety standards vehicle inspection is required in Ontario when a vehicle is sold, transferred, or when it reaches a certain age.

What is included in a car safety inspection?

Licenced car technicians perform vehicle safety inspections as required by the Ontario Ministry of Transportation (MTO). Our technicians run your vehicle through a checklist of features that must function properly to be considered safe.

This includes features such as your lights, horn, and mirrors, as well as your steering and brakes, seatbelts, and tires. We will also look for obvious pitfalls, such as fuel leaks, which can result in an inspection failure.

Once your vehicle has passed the safety inspection, you will receive a safety standards certificate that confirms your vehicle met the minimum safety standards on the date the certificate was issued and allows you to put licence plates on your vehicle.

Here is what will be checked during the vehicle safety inspection program in Ontario:

Tires

Tires are checked to determine if the tread has been worn down or if any dangerous flaws are present, such as dry rot, bubbles, or other damage. The technician will also inspect your spare tire to ensure it is roadworthy in case you need it.

Brakes

One of the most basic car inspection requirements is that the brakes work. The technician will inspect the brake pads and rotors to see if they are excessively worn and if there are any brake fluid leaks. The emergency (or parking) brake will also be examined. If your brakes are “squishy” or slow to respond, you should have them checked, or you may fail the inspection.

Lights

Examine interior and exterior lights to ensure they are all functioning properly.

Windshield

In this case, inspections often include a windshield assessment that ensures your view is not obstructed and checks for any cracks, chips or loose seals that may result in larger problems later on.

Mirrors

Without your rear and side view mirrors, you’re effectively driving your vehicle with 180 degrees of blindness. If you can’t see what’s coming up behind you, you’ll have to learn when it’s safe to change lanes or get out of harm’s way, if and when it’s necessary. In addition, your side view mirrors and rearview mirrors must be present and provide an unobstructed view to pass inspection.

Steering & Alignment

During the inspection, your steering components will be thoroughly examined to ensure that nothing is loose or in danger of failing because any instance of steering failure during a turn could be disastrous. Any worn parts discovered during the inspection could result in the assessment failing.

Suspension

Your suspension is responsible for providing a smooth ride as your vehicle travels bumpy, uneven roads. The inspection technician will ensure that your shock absorbers are not leaking or broken.

Get in Touch with True Auto Care Vehicle Safety Inspections in Elmira, ON

Bring your vehicle to True Auto Care if you are looking for an MTO-approved safety standard inspection. We are a leading automotive repair shop in Elmira, Ontario, that can conduct the inspection and complete any necessary repairs to ensure your vehicle is safe for the road.

Our Customer Reviews

True Auto Care looked after my service truck in quick fashion when it was down and I needed back quickly, great timely service. Thanks!

Jim Spencer Jun 6, 2023

The staff is very knowledgeable and understands my needs. When working on the car they informed me of other issues that needed to be done and gave me an estimate of the additional cost before proceeding with the work. I am satisfied with their work. Bob Skeoch

Bob Skeoch May 5, 2023

Heat shield on muffler system was loose. They fixed it in no time and I was charged for the labour. Great service!

Roger Campbell May 5, 2023

Terrific & friendly service as always. Clear communication regarding work to be done & costs. Flexible with scheduling is appreciated!

Christina H May 5, 2023

Great! Very good front of house customer care! Organized and did very well by me! Fixed up my Subaru and noticed some things that were an oversight at Subaru Dealership! Thank you True Auto Mechanics and I appreciate the work. Recommended As well they have night time drop off! ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Kevin Grice May 5, 2023

I am very thankful for the mechanic's honesty. I can now say I have a safe vehicle again! Thank you so much.

Kristin Simoes May 5, 2023

Great staff and great service. Highly recommend them to anyone who asks!!

Correct Fire & Security Mar 3, 2023

Always helpful, pleasant and fair!! 😊

Vanessa Espinoza May 5, 2023

I would like to thank the people at true care auto for fixing our car. I recommend you take your car there. Great service!

chase woods Apr 4, 2023

Very good experience. A bit expensive for removal of winter tires already on rims... but, the service staff were very helpful.

Tollett Family Apr 4, 2023

Service here is a team effort with excellent results.Jack.

Jack Wolowich Apr 4, 2023

fast and friendly service with everything explained before and after job was done...

RUSS STOKES Apr 4, 2023

Awesome as always 👏

Steven Haney Apr 4, 2023

I had an engine light on for an evap code. The team at True auto was able to find a low voltage error in record time and fix the connection. A big thanks !! Bob

bob vanleeuwen Apr 4, 2023

Yesterday I went in to get an oil change and switch out my snow tires at True Auto Care. I have been going there since I moved to Fergus 4 years ago, and there customer service and quality of work has always been exemplary (a nice change after having lived in the GTA). They're also very accommodating around scheduling when last minute changes need to be made.

Judy Manley Apr 4, 2023

Every interaction I have had with True Auto Care has been excellent. They have great attention to detail and I love that they send pictures with reports. They are my go to car place whenever I can!

Charles Wright Jan 1, 2021

I had my CRV in for the tire changeover and balancing. All was done in the time promised. The multi-point inspection was also done, a very thorough and detailed report.

Walter Malofy Feb 2, 2023

awesome service. . have come many years for car service will keep comin back.

joanne gardner Apr 4, 2023

Ron and Jen always smiling and happy to see me.

Dennis Hons Apr 4, 2023

Great service again......They were able to accommodate my oil change at very short notice around our work schedule which caused us no inconvenience at all.

Bobby Fishman Mar 3, 2023

Quick , efficient, and professional.

Scott Montgomery Mar 3, 2023

I get all my service done here. They are fairly priced and do not pressure sales or service.

Derek Wyatt Mar 3, 2023

Greatly appreciated being kept informed of repairs needed and cost, as discovered. Staff and services are top notch.

Bonnie Fonte Mar 3, 2023

Great company with excellent staff!

Kelly Linton Feb 2, 2023

A+++ Service

Jacki Gansekoele Feb 2, 2023

Very friendly, helpful and informative service from Jenna. Fast, efficient completion of significant work on same day.

Garth Hunt Feb 2, 2023

Good and timely service! I was called about a worn serpentine belt, given the price and asked if I wanted True Auto to repair. I did, and they charged what was quoted. I recommend True Auto! 👍

Jack Moesker Mar 3, 2016

My Acura broke down near Fergus the other day- I was able to limp it into the shop. They took care of it the next day (surprisingly quick!) which made me even happier! Even more appreciated was the texting feature- they gave me the breakdown on my car and the other issues it may be having. Very timely and efficient in my opinion. There was no nonsense, no up-selling, and no pressure tactics- part of why I am so impressed. Can’t say that for every shop out there. Facility is also very clean and up to date. I have happily referred my sister and brother in law (who live in Fergus) to this auto centre.

Jamie Martinello Jan 1, 2023

I called this morning to get a crack in my windshield repaired, new tires, and also brighter head lights installed. It was all completed the same day. They were professional from start to finish. I will be taking my truck in the future to True Auto Care.

Eric Perreault Jan 1, 2023

Great people, great place.

Leo Gainouline Jan 1, 2023

Always amazing service, I have been coming here since moving to Fergus in 2016, and will continue to do so! Kyle was so helpful.

Victoria Heppolette Nov 11, 2022

Friendly and informative staff. The technician told me that my vehicle didn't need the service that I called about. They could have taken advantage but instead, they were honest and forthright. I would recommend them without hesitation.

Jacquie D'Abbenigno Nov 11, 2022

Thanks Jenna and team for providing a quick and efficient service and tyre change while doing a full inspection to decide on any possible future maintenance. Great work!

Patrick Cushion Oct 10, 2022

Back in 2007 I purchased a brand new Mini Cooper convertible. During the warranty period I dealt with the Mini dealership. In August 2012 there was a noise from under the car. Turned out to be a muffler. This was my first interaction with True Auto Care. The muffler came with a lifetime warranty. Fast forward to August 2022 when a new noise appeared from under the car. After removing a couple rotten pipe sections and replacing with new sleeves the exhaust problem was solved. That was a span of 10 years. Over that time I have trusted my Mini to no one else but True Auto Care for all its necessary service. In a week my wife and I will be moving from Elora, where we've lived for the last 40 years, to Kitchener (we jokingly call it East Berlin.) The move in no means means that we will be searching for a new company to service our vehicles; no, we will continue to trust True Auto Care and will return to them for any service required, even if we have to have the vehicle's towed to Fergus. BTW, that muffler on the Mini is still doing its job. . — Brian Cameron

Brian Cameron Sep 9, 2022

Fantastic

Debra Pol Aug 8, 2022

Good services and customer service experience

Charlene Almeida Aug 8, 2022

True Auto Care has been my vehicle repair service provider for more than a decade. They have earned my trust with ever repair, big or small, and they treat me with respect every time. I value their work and I feel confident in their advice and in their repair services. This is what a family business is all about.

Kelly Waterhouse Oct 10, 2020

Always a fantastic service here, can highly recommend. Very professional and friendly.

Roslyn Bucknall Jul 7, 2022

Very good work and happy

Emilien J Bois Jul 7, 2022
Locations Served