823 Tower St S, Fergus, ON N1M 2R2

Safety Inspections in Belwood, ON

Vehicle Safety Inspections in Belwood, ON

Safety Inspections

A properly maintained and fully functioning vehicle meeting all safety requirements is less likely to be involved in a road accident.

What is a vehicle safety inspection?

A vehicle safety inspection examines your vehicle’s features that make it safe to drive on the road. This includes inspecting your tires, brakes, lights, mirrors, and other components your vehicle requires to function properly to keep you and other drivers safe.

A vehicle safety inspection varies depending on the province, but generally, it is a government inspection that ensures vehicles are roadworthy. Some provinces require this inspection on an annual basis, while others require it only before the sale of a car. Make sure you are familiar with your state’s vehicle inspection laws.

Why is a vehicle safety inspection important?

Car safety is critical for everyone, including your passengers and other drivers. People haven’t been driving as much as they were before the pandemic, but now that things are slowly but steadily improving, everyone wants to get back on the road. Inspections are quite important due to the following reasons:

Safety standards vehicle inspection is an important process in Ontario, as it helps ensure that vehicles on the road are safe to operate and meet the minimum standards the province sets. The inspection is designed to identify any potential safety issues and ensure that vehicles are in good working condition. A safety standards vehicle inspection is required in Ontario when a vehicle is sold, transferred, or when it reaches a certain age.

What is included in a car safety inspection?

Licenced car technicians perform vehicle safety inspections as required by the Ontario Ministry of Transportation (MTO). Our technicians run your vehicle through a checklist of features that must function properly to be considered safe.

This includes features such as your lights, horn, and mirrors, as well as your steering and brakes, seatbelts, and tires. We will also look for obvious pitfalls, such as fuel leaks, which can result in an inspection failure.

Once your vehicle has passed the safety inspection, you will receive a safety standards certificate that confirms your vehicle met the minimum safety standards on the date the certificate was issued and allows you to put licence plates on your vehicle.

Here is what will be checked during the vehicle safety inspection program in Ontario:

Tires

Tires are checked to determine if the tread has been worn down or if any dangerous flaws are present, such as dry rot, bubbles, or other damage. The technician will also inspect your spare tire to ensure it is roadworthy in case you need it.

Brakes

One of the most basic car inspection requirements is that the brakes work. The technician will inspect the brake pads and rotors to see if they are excessively worn and if there are any brake fluid leaks. The emergency (or parking) brake will also be examined. If your brakes are “squishy” or slow to respond, you should have them checked, or you may fail the inspection.

Lights

Examine interior and exterior lights to ensure they are all functioning properly.

Windshield

In this case, inspections often include a windshield assessment that ensures your view is not obstructed and checks for any cracks, chips or loose seals that may result in larger problems later on.

Mirrors

Without your rear and side view mirrors, you’re effectively driving your vehicle with 180 degrees of blindness. If you can’t see what’s coming up behind you, you’ll have to learn when it’s safe to change lanes or get out of harm’s way, if and when it’s necessary. In addition, your side view mirrors and rearview mirrors must be present and provide an unobstructed view to pass inspection.

Steering & Alignment

During the inspection, your steering components will be thoroughly examined to ensure that nothing is loose or in danger of failing because any instance of steering failure during a turn could be disastrous. Any worn parts discovered during the inspection could result in the assessment failing.

Suspension

Your suspension is responsible for providing a smooth ride as your vehicle travels bumpy, uneven roads. The inspection technician will ensure that your shock absorbers are not leaking or broken.

Get in Touch with True Auto Care Vehicle Safety Inspections in Belwood, ON

Bring your vehicle to True Auto Care if you are looking for an MTO-approved safety standard inspection. We are a leading automotive repair shop in Belwood, Ontario, that can conduct the inspection and complete any necessary repairs to ensure your vehicle is safe for the road.

Our Customer Reviews

Fast service. Clear communication of costs.

Kevin Kayak May 5, 2024

The team at True Auto Care, helped me out right away with one of our service trailers and got us on our way! Thanks!

Jim Spencer Jun 6, 2023

Very Profesional, Polite, Friendly, and Reasonably Priced Good Old Fashion Service. The Best of the Best!! Happy to know True Auto Care!

Andreas Roussos Nov 11, 2023

Absolutely great service!

Kyle C May 5, 2024

Great service and communication. Came in under budget and time

mike mackay May 5, 2024

Great job and friendly service.I rate them a ten.

Daniel Burke Nov 11, 2022

Great service and explained exactly what got done. Reminder to stop by and have tire nuts re-torqued

Jim Hoare May 5, 2024

Courteous and professional

Karen Stimson Nov 11, 2023

I received same day service and the bill was not outrageous… actually reasonable. Provided recommendations but didn’t push any at all.

Kyle Evers May 5, 2024

Great service, friendly and knowledgeable staff, quality work every time. No complaints! Highly recommended to anyone looking for a positive experience :)

Celeste Sugden May 5, 2024

Quick response and timely manner to get my vehicle fixed. I went to the office on the Monday and by Tuesday afternoon it was fixed Call them

margaret murray Apr 4, 2024

Great service

Shirley Rowan Jul 7, 2023

I was completely satisfied with the service I received with the purchase of new tires and rims.

Terry Webb Oct 10, 2023

As Usual I called Jenna at True Auto Care in Fergus She got me in the next day and actually finished the next day It was a lot of work and wouldn’t have been surprised if she said she needed it for a couple more days Somehow, they got it done, which was really important to me because I needed to travel to the states For a very important meeting These guys never fail thank you Jenna and company I would never go to anybody else!!!!

Mike Babin May 5, 2023

The staff is very knowledgeable and understands my needs. When working on the car they informed me of other issues that needed to be done and gave me an estimate of the additional cost before proceeding with the work. I am satisfied with their work. Bob Skeoch

Bob Skeoch May 5, 2023

I was able to book my tire switchover faster than expected and was pleasantly surprised when it included a check over of my SUV at no additional charge. Great quality service.

Juri Niit Oct 10, 2020

True Auto Care has been my vehicle repair service provider for more than a decade. They have earned my trust with ever repair, big or small, and they treat me with respect every time. I value their work and I feel confident in their advice and in their repair services. This is what a family business is all about.

Kelly Waterhouse Oct 10, 2020

Good and timely service! I was called about a worn serpentine belt, given the price and asked if I wanted True Auto to repair. I did, and they charged what was quoted. I recommend True Auto! 👍

Jack Moesker Mar 3, 2016

Nice staff, they did great work. I had called for a quote earlier in the week. When the work was done, they tried to make me pay almost double until I had brought up the quote they gave me. I paid the price I was quoted for. Could be an honest mistake, but almost cost me.

vinny Mar 3, 2024

Service work completed as agreed and very timely. Well done!!

Kenneth Lindsay Mar 3, 2023

Service here is a team effort with excellent results.Jack.

Jack Wolowich Apr 4, 2023

Service was both excellent and very friendly. As usual!

Marjorie Rogers Nov 11, 2023

When I go for maintenance the service is always great.

wayne campbell Jun 6, 2023

Everything was great, service work, time of appt and length of time.

Ann ironside Sep 9, 2023

First noticed how welcoming and warm the reception area is. The place is clean and well organized. Jenna was polite, professional and listened attentive to my needs. I will definitely be back to have my vehicles serviced at True Auto Care.

Wally Anthony Jan 1, 2024

our experience at True Auto Care was excellent. They got our vehicle in right away and fixed it the same day. I would recommend them to anyone and definitely use them again !

KEVIN LICHTY Jan 1, 2024

True Auto yet again provided a first class service. I had a dead battery. They took it in with no appointment and had me up and running again within a few hours. Excellent, friendly customer service. The only shop in Fergus I have used for close on 20 years and will continue to do so.

David and Mary-Ann Tinsley Oct 10, 2022

Excellent service all around.. Thank you.

Robert Grimes Mar 3, 2023

Very pleasant staff. I liked that they sent a text with pictures and diagnostics and then followed up by phone. They were able to work around my schedule to do the repair and pricing was reasonable.

Joanne Lewis Jan 1, 2024

I love that the inspection outlines necessary vs recommended work. TAC is helpful and fair.

Sharon Holloway Jan 1, 2024

Local is always the best. Thank you for your kind expert care

maryg Dec 12, 2023

Completely satisfied with the work done. Quick turnaround on a large job! Service advisor Jenna was amazing with her communication! Thanks again you have gained a new customer! Jeff

Jeff P Dec 12, 2023

Quick, friendly and reasonably priced!

Nora Crete Dec 12, 2023

Excellent service efficient and timely

Jim Bailey Jul 7, 2023

I was very impressed with how knowledgeable the Service Manager and Service Advisor were at the Front Desk! Makes for a GREAT experience!

idd Nov 11, 2023

Great service and very helpful.

Moe Jacobs Nov 11, 2023
Locations Served